May 24, 1990: Edmonton Oilers win fifth Stanley Cup

After the Edmonton Oilers won their fourth Stanley Cup in five years in 1988, the team shocked the sports world by Wayne Gretzky exchanges with the Los Angeles Kings in a five-player deal, ending one of the biggest points in NHL history.

Two years later, the Oilers won the Cup for the fifth time, defeating the Boston Bruins in five games. Mark Messier led the team that season with 129 points in 79 games. Jari Kurri, meanwhile, won 93 in 78.


In goal, Edmonton was led by Conn Smythe Trophy winner Bill Ranford, who played 22 of 23 playoff games with a 2.53 goals-against average. Alternate goalkeeper Grant Fuhr, who was the starting goaltender when the Oilers won their first four Stanley Cups, has fought shoulder injuries this season and has played in just 21 games.

It's been 30 years since the Oilers last lifted the Cup. Here are three facts about the last Edmonton championship team:


The opening game of the Stanley Cup Finals against the Bruins was one of the biggest games in NHL history. The Oilers took a 2-0 lead in the third period behind goals from forwards Adam Graves and Glenn Anderson.


Ray Bourque, the Bruins Hall of Fame, responded with two goals in the third period, including the equalizer with 1:29 left. Before his tying goal, the match was delayed 26 minutes due to a power outage delay.

The match went up to three times overtime before Oilers winger Petr Klima scored the winning goal.

The match lasted five hours and 32 minutes and to this day remains the longest match in the history of the Stanley Cup Finals.


Messier and Craig Simpson led the team with 31 points in the Stanley Cup playoffs. Simpson had 16 goals and 15 assists while Messier turned on the lamp nine times with 22 assists.

During the 1990 playoffs, the team had 10 players with double-digit points, Kurri (25), Esa Tikkanen (24) and Anderson (22) completing the top five Oilers. The team scored 93 goals in the playoffs.


The 1989-1990 Oilers team included four members of the Hockey Hall of Fame: Messier, Kurri, Fuhr and Anderson.

Messier won the fifth Cup of his career in 1990 before winning his final as a member of the New York Rangers in 1994. In his legendary career spanning 25 seasons in the NHL, he scored 1,887 points in 1,756 games and was inducted into the Hall of Fame. in 2007.

Kurri, inducted into the Hall of Fame in 2001, has played 17 seasons in the NHL, including 10 in Edmonton. He tallied 1,398 points in 1,251 games and was the highest ranked European player in retired NHL history.

Fuhr is one of the best post-season players in NHL history with a combined record of 56-14 in the years Edmonton won its first four Stanley Cups. The winner of the 1988 Vézina Trophy was inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame in 2003.

Finally, Anderson has spent 12 of his 16 NHL games in Edmonton, where 906 points in 845 games as a member of the Oilers. The six-time Stanley Cup champion was inducted into the Hall in 2008.

Reference :
Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *