Sports News

Rugby World Cup: Jonah Lomu tops vote – who made your all-time XV?

Who made your all-time best World Cup XV?
2019 Rugby World Cup
Hosts: Japan Dates: 20 September to 2 November
Protection: Full commentary on each sport throughout BBC Radio 5 Stay and Radio 5 Stay Sports activities Additional, plus textual content updates on the BBC Sport web site and app.

Cease the press… your all-time World Cup XV has been revealed.

Greater than 160,000 individuals voted on who ought to make the ultimate minimize, with legendary New Zealand wing Jonah Lomu proving the most well-liked candidate by taking virtually 90% of the vote for the huge spots.

Lomu is certainly one of seven All Blacks in a aspect that additionally incorporates three South Africans, two Englishmen and one participant every from Australia, France and Eire.

Nevertheless, there is no such thing as a place for the event’s all-time prime factors scorer Jonny Wilkinson or fellow England World Cup winner Jason Robinson, with New Zealand’s Dan Carter taking the quantity 10 jersey and France’s Serge Blanco most well-liked at full-back.

Lomu, Blanco and Eire centre Brian O’Driscoll are the one gamers to not have gained a World Cup, whereas Australia’s John Eales joins 4 New Zealanders in profitable it twice.

There was a scrap for who would begin at tight-head prop, with New Zealand’s Owen Franks edging Welshman Adam Jones to affix compatriot Sean Fitzpatrick and England’s Jason Leonard within the entrance row.

There is no such thing as a scarcity of leaders in a ahead pack that boasts 4 World Cup-winning captains in Eales, South Africa’s Francois Pienaar, England’s Martin Johnson and Richie McCaw, who lifted the trophy twice with New Zealand.

And it’s a aspect blessed with try-scoring prowess on the flanks, with Lomu and South Africa’s Bryan Habana the event’s all-time prime attempt scorers on 15 apiece.

So, with out additional ado, right here is your all-time World Cup XV…

The stats behind your key gamers…

Martin Johnson: Regardless of showing for New Zealand’s under-21 aspect, the lock went on to develop into the primary, and up to now solely, England captain to raise the Webb Ellis Cup in 2003. Effectively backed with greater than 100,000 votes.

Richie McCaw: One of the vital widespread alternatives and the one man to have captained two World Cup-winning groups, McCaw is the all-time most-capped participant in worldwide Take a look at rugby, having performed 148 instances for New Zealand and made extra tackles, 225, than every other participant within the competitors.

Dan Carter: The influential fly-half scored 19 factors in a man-of-the-match efficiency as New Zealand beat Australia within the 2015 closing. Simply think about seeing him outdoors South Africa’s Joost van der Westhuizen within the half backs…

Brian O’Driscoll: Second solely to McCaw within the variety of worldwide appearances made, O’Driscoll made his debut for Eire aged 20 in 1999 and went on to captain his nation 83 instances. The third-most widespread choice, behind Lomu and McCaw.

Jonah Lomu: The joint-top try-scorer in World Cup historical past, alongside South Africa’s Bryan Habana. 4 of Lomu’s 15 tries got here in opposition to England within the 1995 semi-final, although the wing by no means gained the event.

You’ll be able to nonetheless choose your all-time World Cup XV by clicking right here however votes will not rely in the direction of the ultimate group choice.

Supply hyperlink

Show More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker
%d bloggers like this: